IMG_20211014_225921_edited.jpg

My True Story

Hello! I’m so glad you are here! 

I’d love to tell you my true story. It has deeply informed my practice and the reason I am a Social Worker!

My name is Catie Samantha Peck.

At birth I was named Samantha Claire.

I was relinquished by my first mother, and then lived in 2 foster homes. At 7 weeks old I was adopted and renamed Catherine Anne by my adoptive family.

I now choose to go by Catie Samantha Peck

and my friends, family, and clients call me Catie.

AirBrush_20210727205922.jpg

I hold a LMSW in New York State and can provide telehealth services to clients across the state and New York City.
I began my education at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, NJ, where I received a Bachelor of Social Work degree in 2006. I then went on to obtain a Master of Social Work degree from the Greater Rochester Collaborative Master of Social Work Program (Nazareth College / SUNY Brockport) in 2007. I published my Master’s Thesis on Adoption Trauma at that time.


I have practiced Social Work in New York State for the past 15 years. During my career, I have primarily served Veterans, and Caregivers of Veterans, for 10 years at the Federal Department of Veterans Affairs. I specialized in working with the Geriatric population for a portion of this time and have an affinity for working with older adults. Prior to that, at the onset of my career, I worked in a hospital setting with a medically frail population. I have additionally worked as a mental health counselor in an outpatient low-income clinic setting.

I enjoy writing and find it very therapeutic in the healing of trauma. I am a part of two upcoming publications focused around adoption: Flourish, The Book (an adoptee anthology, 2022) and Astonishing (my personal memoir, 2023). I am also honored to be a part of an upcoming AdopteesOn podcast (
www.adopteeson.com). I benefit from deep immersion in the adoptee community and have found almost no greater tool towards my own personal healing than adoptee friendships and mirroring from other adopted people.

My adoptive mother that raised me was a Late Discovery Adoptee (LDA) which means that she did not discover that she was adopted until she was an adult. Since neither of us had any post-adoption support, we had to figure out on our own that our family’s historical losses were both strengths and challenges to us. I successfully reunited with my first family (Biological Mother and Biological Father) when I was 36 years old, and they are a large part of my life. I continue to maintain close relationships with my adoptive family.

I enjoy treating the mental health needs of all adults, but my personal and professional experiences have led me to primarily focus my self-study, training, and clinical practice on serving adoption constellation members.

I also carry deep compassion for traumatized populations, such as Veterans and their Caregivers who often carry the diagnosis of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Much of this comes from my professional experiences while serving at the Department of Veterans Affairs; as well as having trained in, written about, and extensively researched on supporting the adopted person, who I believe often suffers from a Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (CPTSD) diagnosis. Having lost my first mother at birth (due to relinquishment), I consider adoptees people that have been grieving their entire lives. This, paired with the loss of my adoptive mother in young adulthood, has given me a unique insight into the journey of the grieving person, and the tools needed to heal.

I have studied from and am influenced by the work of Gabor Mate, Dr. Bessel Van Der Kolk, Dr. Peter Levine, Dr Diane Poole-Heller, Dr. John Bowlby, David Kessler, Dr. Stephen Porges & Arielle Schwartz.

I have an eclectic approach in my practice. Some of the various treatment approaches I use are Polyvagal Theory, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Compassionate Inquiry, Attachment Science, Inner Child Work, Mind-Body Trauma Techniques, and Somatic Experiencing. I’d love to help you understand what these different modalities are and the benefits of each in our work together.

The exposure and attempts at belonging to many families, along with my own genetic bewilderment until adulthood, has allowed me a uniquely empathic approach towards diversity and inclusion  in my practice. Due to my own experience with the destructive impact of family separation, I have a particularly sensitive approach to personal and historical trauma, and the shame, fear, and pain that it causes families generationally.
I find personal time in nature, relationships with our animal friends, and humor as all critical pieces to an individual’s ability to achieve mental wellness.

When I am not doing THIS, I share my life with my husband, who is a teacher and also a helper by nature, and my definition of family, which includes close friendships, biological kin, adoptive family and furry companions.
Traveling, kayaking, live music, and writing help me find my center.

My Happy Place

Kayaking is one of my favorite things!

IMG_20211028_134714700_HDR.jpg